Endothel.de -
Frequently Asked Questions

Home
News
Webforum
Resources
Reports

Feedback

Q: What is the need for this presentation?

The characterization of endothelial dysfunction (ED) tremendously affects cardiology. It may lead to an earlier and more specific diagnosis yielding a better therapy or even prevention of atherothrombotic events. Endothelial dysfunction consistently accompanies cardiovascular risk factors, hypertension, diabetes, heart failure as well as coronary artery disease itself. The interface between blood, vascular muscle cells and autonomic nerve terminals seems to be poorly understood. Therefore, proliferation of knowledge about this condition is seemingly need.

 

Q: What are characteristics of endothelial dysfunction?

Higher vascular tone/afterload/blood pressure due to a lack of endothelial derived relaxing factor (nitric oxide). Less agonistic NO-stimulation including less flow-mediated dilation. Expression of surface proteins such as von Willebrand Factor affecting coagulation, changes in activation of membrane-bound enzymes such as ACE amongst othe

.

 

Q: What are causes of endothelial dysfunction?

Endothelial cells are adversely reacting to permanent elevations of cholesterol, oxidant stress, and glucose amongst others. In women, the cessation of vasoprotective hormones such as estrogen during menopause may lead to endothelial dysfunction. Generally, many hormones, peptides and metabolites interfere with endothelial function or smooth muscle responsiveness to endothelial factors. Endothelial dysfunction is arbitrarily defined as a poor, absent or paradox response of vascular smooth muscle cells to endothelium-dependent vasodilators. However, vascular tone is also determined by the autonomic nervous system.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Endothel.de - Fostering Endothelial Research.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Endothel.de -
Häufig gestellte Fragen

Start
News
Webforum
Resourcen
Reporte

Feedback

Frage: Was ist die Notwendigkeit für diese Präsentation?

Endotheldysfunktion hat eine sehr grosse Bedeutung in der frühen Erkennung und in der Verlaufsbeurteilung von Herz-und Gefässkrankheiten. Eine exakte Diagnose von Endotheldysfunktion kann eine gezieltere Therapie und damit verbesserte Aussicht durch Prävention von thrombovaskulären Ereignissen bedeuten. Endotheldysfunktion begleitet häufig kardiovaskuläre Risikofaktoren, Hypertension, Diabetes mellitus, Herzinsuffizienz und koronare Herzkrankheit. Die Schnittstelle zwischen Blut, vaskulärer Muskelzelle und autonomen Nervenendigungen ist nur unvollständig verstanden. Die Proliferation von Wissen über Endotheldysfunktion erscheint deswegen dringend notwendig.

 

Frage: Was sind Merkmale der Endotheldysfunktion?

Höherer vaskulärer Tonus, Nachlast, Blutdruck aufgrund eines Mangels an endothelialem gefässrelaxierendem Faktor oder EDRF (=Stickstoffmonoxid, NO). Verminderte agonistische NO-Stimulation einschliesslich verminderter flussvermittelter Gefäßdilatation. Expression von Oberflächen-Adhäsionsproteinen wie z.B. von Willebrand-Faktor, Veränderungen in der Expression membrangebundener Enzyme wie z.B. ACE..

 

Frage: Was sind die Ursachen für Endotheldysfunktion?

Endothelzellen reagieren empfindich auf andauerende Erhöhungen von Cholesterol, oxidativem Stress, Glukose u.a. Der Wegfall von gefässschützenden Hormonen wie z.B. Oestrogen in der Menopause kann ebenfalls zu Endotheldysfunktion führen. Ganz allgemein beeinflussen viele Hormone, Peptide und Stoffwechselprodukte die Endothelfunktion bzw. die Empfindlichkeit der Gefässmuskelzellen auf endotheliale Faktoren. Demnach wird Endotheldysfunktion arbiträr als eingeschränkte, abwesende oder paradoxe Antwort der Gefaeßmuskelzelle auf endothelabhängige Vasodilatoren definiert. In dieser Definition wird nicht der vegetativ-nervöse Einfluss auf den Gefässtonus beruecksichtigt.

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Endothel.de - Fostering Endothelial Research.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------